Welcome to the website of the Shadow Authority for Cumberland Council

On 1 April 2023 local government in Cumbria will change.  

The current six borough, city and district councils, along with Cumbria County Council, will be replaced by two new ‘unitary’ councils. 

In the area currently covered by Allerdale Borough Council, Carlisle City Council and Copeland Borough Council a new authority, Cumberland Council, will be created. A similar process will take place in the areas currently covered by Barrow Borough Council, Eden District Council and South Lakeland District Council. The new council there will be called Westmorland and Furness.

Elections to the new authorities took place on 5 May 2022. 

As part of the process to set up the new unitary councils, ‘shadow’ authorities have been created following these elections. 

The Shadow Authority for Cumberland Council will be overseeing the planning and preparation for the new unitary council between May 2022 and April 2023. 

This website is the home of the Shadow Authority for Cumberland Council.

It will hold all the public information related to the Shadow Authority, including information about the elections in May 2022 and the subsequent meetings, agendas, minutes and decisions of the Shadow Authority.

You can also read the Council Plan

A new website will be built for the new unitary authority to replace this one.