What is the Shadow Authority for Cumberland Council?

As part of the process to set up the new Cumberland Council, elections took place in May 2022 to elect 46 councillors in new wards across the Cumberland Council area.

The wards for Cumberland Council follow the same boundaries as the current county council divisions.   

These councillors will be elected for a five-year term of office.  

There is more information about elections to the Cumberland Council on this website

The first year will be on a ‘Shadow Authority’ that will oversee the planning and preparation for the new unitary council, followed by four years on Cumberland Council.  

Following the elections on 5 May, the first meeting of the Shadow Authority for Cumberland Council was held on 17 May 2022.