Annual Council meeting held

Council meeting

Cumberland Council's Annual Council was held on Wednesday 15 May in Carlisle’s Civic Centre.

At the meeting, the following appointments were made:

  • Chair of the Council: Cllr Andrew Semple
  • Deputy Chair of the Council: Cllr Linda Jones-Bulman

The Leader of the Council, Cllr Mark Fryer confirmed the names of the Deputy Leader(s) and Members of the Executive for 2024-25:

  • Deputy Leader (Statutory) and Adults and Executive Member for Community Health, Cllr Lisa Brown
  • Deputy Leader (Non-Statutory) Statutory Lead Member for Children's Services and Executive Member for Children’s Services, Family Wellbeing and Housing, Cllr Emma Williamson
  • Executive Member for Cumberland Policy and Regulatory Services, Cllr Bob Kelly
  • Executive Member for Digital Connectivity and Customer Focus, Cllr Chris Southward
  • Executive Member for Financial Planning and Assets, Cllr Barbara Cannon
  • Executive Member for Governance and Transformation, Cllr Marcus Campbell-Savours
  • Executive Member for Lifelong Learning and Development, Cllr Elaine Lynch
  • Executive Member for Sustainable, Resilient and Connected Places, Cllr Denise Rollo
  • Executive Member for Vibrant and Healthy Places, Cllr Anne Quilter

The Chair of each committee is as follows:

  • Chair of the Audit Committee, Cllr Lucy Patrick
  • Chair of Standards and Governance Committee, Cllr Graham Minshaw
  • Chair of Planning Committee, Cllr Anne Glendinning
  • Chair of Licensing Committee, Cllr Mike Hawkins
  • Chair of Regulatory Committee, Cllr Mike Hawkins
  • Chair of Business and Resources Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Cllr Joseph Ghayouba
  • Chair of Health Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Cllr Gillian Troughton
  • Chair of People Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Cllr Jeanette Whalen
  • Chair of Place Overview and Scrutiny Committee, Cllr Carni-McCarron Holmes
  • Chair of Staffing Committee, Cllr Lisa Brown
  • Chair of Harbour Committee, Cllr Jimmy Grisdale
  • Chair of Joint Scrutiny (co-chair with Westmorland and Furness) Cllr Bill Pegram